Human Rights Committee

The Human Rights Committee prepares advisory reports concerning current international developments in the area of human rights, Dutch human rights policy, and the role of international institutions, businesses and civil society organisations.


Dr Janne Nijman


Tanya van Gool


Dr Tanja Aalberts
Professor Law and Politics, Vrije Universiteit

Dr Maarten Biermans
PROW Capital

Dr Antoine Buyse
Professor of Human Rights in a Multidisciplinary Perspective & director of the Netherlands Institute of Human Rights (SIM) at Utrecht University

Maria Anne van Dijk MA
ABN AMRO Global Lead Social Sustainability

Wilbert-Jan van Hövell LL.M
Former deputy director of International legal protection, UNHCR and former head of Human Rights UN peace mission East Timor

Dr Narin Idriz
Researcher at the TMC Asser Institute

Maral Khajeh LL.M
Program Coordinator Justice & Peace

Dr Tarlach McGonagle
Professor of Media Law & Information Society, Leiden University & Associate Professor of Information Law, University of Amsterdam

Eduard Nazarski LL.M

Lionel Veer MSc
Former diplomat, including Ambassador for Human Rights & Permanent Delegate to UNESCO, and Consul General in St. Petersburg

Dr Margaretha Wewerinke-Singh
Associate Professor of Sustainability Law, University of Amsterdam


Dr Karin Wester

Project secretray

Paula de Beer MSc